Tags

,

This post at The Nourishing Gourmet has me thinking.  So many of us have wonderful ideals when it comes to food.  We care about the lives of animals, our bodies, the spirit in which these things are created.  It’s worth adhering to rules most of the time.  But as Kimi says, about 20% of the time you can, and probably should, let yourself go.

Why?  Because food shouldn’t be what separates us.  Here in New York we rely on restaurants and bars to socialize.  Our apartments are simply not up to the task.  We’re lucky here in that so many New Yorkers are concerned with food.  A lot of restaurants specify “grass-fed” or “free-range.”  Some, like Northeast Kingdom, will actually tell you which farm your meat came from.  That Portlandia sketch is oh, so true.  But no matter what, there’s a certain amount of risk that comes with allowing someone else to prepare your food.

When I go out to eat I try to avoid sugary desserts, white flour-y things, and meat.    I’m not a vegetarian.  And while I respect them and their sacrifices, I am a staunch meat eater.  I just don’t want to risk factory-farmed meat.  But I do go out.  I have to if I want to maintain a social life.  So I let myself forget and I focus on the company.  My motto is sometimes you have to feed your body, and sometimes you have to feed your soul. The 80-20 rule is great because it allows for the slip-ups that create instead of destroy wonderful experiences.

Here’s a lovely kitchen for you:

On Pennywise Platter and Simple Lives Thursday

