Tags

, , , , , , ,

image from Serious Eats

My boyfriend sat me down last night for a somewhat serious talk.  I’m cooking too much, he says.  And not spending enough time painting.  And he’s right.  I’ve been getting up before work to cook, then spending a few hours in the evening making more things while I hadn’t painted since (gasp!) Sunday.  Not good, not good at all.

I agreed to tone it down because I know he’s right.  I really need to be painting.  And while cooking is very important to me, I need to start thinking about it in a different way.  A quick perusal of my Pinterest boards tell me that I am overly enamored with complicated, laborious recipes.  I feel so proud when I make one.  It’s so satisfying.  But I need to relegate that to weekends if I ever want this painting thing to go anywhere.

And so, a challenge arose: how to cook healthy food that Sally Fallon would be proud of, really quickly after work.  I get home around 5:15.  At 6:30 I want to sit down at my little desk-studio with a full tummy and no guilt, and get working.  I have a couple of ideas on how to do this, and I’m going to post them here.  I won’t post recipes, per se, as much as instructions because it’s really all about convenience, n’est-ce pas?

And so without futher ado, here are my suggested steps for lovely, weeknight porkchops:

1 – Order your pastured pork chops from a farm, and have them delivered.  So much  easier.  I get mine here.

2 – Have your boyfriend or significant other pick up the following, because I know I don’t want to brave Whole Foods after work: one or two pieces of veg, a yellow onion and grass-fed heavy cream.  I suggest mushrooms for the veg, but it would also be great with red pepper or spinach.

3 – Chop up a chunk of the onion and whichever vegetable you chose.  You could add a little thyme to the mix if you’d like.  Heat some butter in a pan and begin sauteeing.  Stir every once in a while so they get soft and a little caramelized.  Heat your oven to 350.

4 – Meanwhile in another, oven-proof pan, melt some more butter.  When it’s nice and hot (a sprinkle of water should sizzle and evaporate almost instantaneously), put in your pork chops.  While they’re cooking, salt and pepper the still raw side.  After 2-3 minutes, flip to the other side.  The meat should be nice and caramelized. Salt and pepper the virgin side.

5 – After another 2-3 minutes, put the whole pan in the oven for another 2-3 minutes.  (And remember to swish your veg around in the other pan).

6 – Take the pan out of the oven and remove the pork chops to a plate to rest.  Admire their glistening beauty.  Turn the flame to med-low.  Add 1-2 teaspoons of sherry vinegar and as it’s steaming, take a wooden spoon and get all the yummy, stuck-on bits unstuck.  Then add heavy cream, enough to make as much sauce as you want.  Stir it around, getting anything still stuck, unstuck.  Then add your veg from the other pan and let it all cook together for a few minutes.  It should thicken up pretty quickly.

7 – Pour the cream sauce on the pork chops and guess what, dinner is done.

Hope you try and enjoy this.  What are your quick, weeknight meals?

On Pennywise Platter Thursday, Scratch Cookin’ Tuesday, Traditional Tuesdays, Fat Tuesday and Real Food Wednesday

